Hello 2017!

Every year hundreds of people say ‘New year, new me‘ as soon as the clock strikes midnight. It’s like a Cinderella story where the strike of midnight makes everything just melt away. I tend to roll my eyes at those type of people because a new year cannot make that much of a difference.

This year I’ve started to see things a little differently. Now don’t roll your eyes or exit this blog post just yet. Just bare with me.

At 12:01am on the 1st January 2016, I was going by a different name to what I am now. I was engaged to be married to my best friend on the 10th December 2016 and I just couldn’t wait. We had been planning the wedding for 3 years and 3 years ago, it seemed so far away. But boy, did it come round fast. The day came and went in a whirlwind of laughter, tears, excitement, love and nerves. Then my name changed. People were already calling me Mrs Smith. In my head, I was still a Miss.

I know what some of you are probably thinking ‘A change in last name doesn’t make you a new person.’ After all as Shakespeare said: ‘What’s in a name? That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet.’

Notice how I said earlier, a little. My new last name definitely doesn’t make me a new person but I am now a wife (which still sounds weird and I can’t get used to it!). I am one half of an incredibly strong unit. I am one half of a bond that has survived a lot of things that were sent to break us. I have gained a new label on top of teacher, daughter, sister, friend. A label that, actually, I am proud of because it shows how far my partner and myself have grown not only as individuals but also as a family.

In essence, I have gained another element to my being. A NEW part of me. One that I want to continue to build along side my husband and to nurture and keep the spark alive.

So this year, I have decide that I am going to make some New Year’s resolutions. You might think this is a little off topic or has nothing to do with what I was just talking about but I want to lead a healthier life so I can have a long and successful one with my husband and for our future family.

  1. We are joining a Slimming World group on Wednesday at 7:30pm. I am determined to lose weight for our dream honeymoon to Mexico in August. My goal weight is 10 stone, so I have 4 stone to lose. I’m hoping that I can get off at least 2 and a half/3 stone for the honeymoon, if not more.
  2. I am going to begin to exercise, building in simple, meaningful tasks first like walking the dog. Starting small and then working my way up to running.
  3. I definitely need to organise myself more which is why I’ve brought myself a calendar so I can see when all of my appointments are and particularly when we can schedule in date night (I haven’t put this to my partner yet, so watch this space!)
  4. I enjoy writing so I have made a resolution that I will write on this blog at least once a week. I think this is perfectly do-able. I want a hobby and I want it to be something that I enjoy doing. It will also, hopefully, keep me on track on Slimming World.

 

As you can see, I’m not trying to completely re-invent myself. This is why I only said I was seeing a little differently earlier. I just want to lead a much healthier life style. I hope you stick with me as I go through all the twists and turns of my Slimming World journey and the first year of married life. I’ve heard it can be a little bumpy but you can’t get a rainbow without a little rain.

Mrs S x

Leave a Reply

